Indoctrination

I would like to use the space in this post to speak against indoctrinating children to support, believe in, or like a particular cartoon character, book, political belief, etc., before they can decide for themselves, but I won’t.

My child will be raised a Buffalo Bills fan. My child will be raised Methodist. My child will come with me to Planned Parenthood rallies Gay Pride parades. My child will watch the Muppets and Fraggle Rock and not Elmo and Barney because I like the Muppets and Fraggle Rock and not Elmo and Barney. When my child is old enough to make its own decisions about such things, I’ll let it, as long as it can support its reasons for its beliefs with a complete and convincing multimedia presentation (except for the Buffalo Bills part – that is nonnegotiable).

One Comment on “Indoctrination”

  1. Sandi says:

    Your child will have lots to tell its therapist. 😉


Leave a Reply

