Starting a registry: need advice

The evidence suggests that I am pregnant with a growing child who will someday be born and need stuff. My sister is discussing baby shower dates. It’s Saturday morning and all I’m doing is eating cereal and watching a show about Hitler’s imagined supercity. I have no excuse to not start a registry except that I don’t feel like doing it.

A special sort of tiredness results from the tediousness of buying necessary products. It means researching, comparing, reviewing, and being bombarded with “suggestions” from whichever store I register with. However, I don’t want my laziness to affect my pending child’s pending well-being, so I am taking suggestions. I am making the decision, right now, to begin registering for retail products. After I finish my cereal.

What does my baby need? What must I have has a new mother? Please leave comments!

6 Comments on “Starting a registry: need advice”

  1. Trish B says:

    Hi Tara!

    The most important thing I learned after I registered was that you will feel like it’s a life and death question of which stroller to get, which carseat, which everything, when the truth of the matter is any one of them will more than likely work just fine for you, so try not to drive yourself crazy deciding (there are so many choices!).

  2. Sandi says:

    All your baby needs is a place to sleep and something to eat. Everything else is window dressing. Aren’t I helpful? Hey, I raised babies without monitors, Boppies, or pack-n-plays. I think they might have used rocks and sticks for toys even. 🙂

    • Tara says:

      Distinguishing between “wants” and “needs” when it comes to baby stuff (we’ll call it) seems to be impossible for the U.S. mainstream. We don’t have much extra space for anything besides a place for the baby to eat and sleep, which I’m okay with, but I’m also okay with receiving products that make my life easier 🙂 Maybe I should have titled this post “What will make my life easier once I have an baby?”

      I’ve already repeated your advice in my head several times.

  3. Sarah says:

    While I’m not sure what they have at Babies R Us, one of our most used items were baby carriers. We used a Moby wrap when he was little, a Baby Bjorn when we were out and he was small, and a Beco until he was 2 and I was too pregnant to continue using it. There are so many baby wearing groups that I’m sure you can find plenty of advice and reviews online. If you are breastfeeding, you need a good pump. I can’t think of anything else you “need” or that would even make your life that much easier and is worth the space it consumes.

  4. meghan says:

    I tend to agree with the above posts. As I’m in the new baby stage yet age I’m trying to sort through what I liked with both of them and what I could do without. So, I love my bobby when breastfeeding, but also to prop him up after he ate and to get good tummy time. I think it’s a multipurpose product. If you are breastfeeding you absolutely need a good pump regardless of how much you plan to be away from your baby. Everyone needs some time away work or otherwise. This is especially nice to roll over and look at your husband and say not it at 3am when you have already been up several times =) Don’t worry about registering for clothes, bibs, socks etc. People seem to buy these regardless. You will want some type of pack n’ play for travel purposes, but it may be easiest to get a used one at garage sales and leave it where you travel most (for example your parents) Register for bottles, pacifiers, sippy cups, and bowls (maybe several different brands). That way when they are a little older you won’t have to go out and buy that stuff.


Leave a Reply

