Endorsement

Burt's

Hormones bestow many blessings on a pregnant person’s body, one of which is robbing the skin of oil and elasticity, leaving the skin dry and itchy. The hormones also help to create the right environment for a growing human being, a creature that subsequently grows larger and larger, causing your dry, itchy skin to stretch and become even more dry and itchy.

To a degree of success I used Burt’s Bees milk and honey lotion on my stretching belly in the mornings, but by the early afternoon my skin would begin to itch again. (This means the lotion worked for an impressive five to seven hours, so this is by no means a put-down of the lotion, which is not intended for the special needs of pregnant skin.) Being a Burt’s Bees fan – clearly – I visited their website toward the end of my first trimester and discovered the Mama Bee   products they offer. I ordered the body oil.

The first time I smelled the oil I decided I didn’t care if it actually worked. Did you know lemon and almond is the best smell in the world? But it does work. I put it on right after the shower and very rarely find myself scratching at any time of the day. I haven’t noticed any stains on my clothes from it, but I do give it a few minutes to dry before I put clothes on (about the time it takes me to brush my teeth).

The bottle is small, but you don’t need a lot of oil to do the job – unless you want to buy enough to fill your tub and sit in it forever, which I would never judge you for doing.

One Comment on “Endorsement”

  1. Leanne says:

    Oh! i am looking for a good cream to start using to try to ward off stretch marks and help itchy skin. I love Burt’s Bees. Thanks for sharing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

