Was that your cake?

I still have maternity days left to use. I will be taking them in the coming months. All of them. And here’s what I have to say about it:

Iamnotevensorry

Before you begin to (or while you openly) resent me, remember that the only reason I have this extra maternity time to use is because for a month and a half immediately after Henry was born I had a long, raw, down-to-the-uterus-deep wound that kept me homebound and severely hindered my ability to bond with my newborn son for weeks. I’d rather I weren’t so lucky.

If work offered me another 800 days of paid leave I’d take it and feel exactly the way Joey feels about eating his date’s cake. And I wouldn’t even bother wiping the frosting off of my face.

Leave a Reply

