Giving in to fear

Yesterday I had a meeting at a building beyond walking distance from Henry’s school. I was on Twitter when news broke about the bombings at the Boston Marathon, following reports as they came in. It didn’t occur to me to be scared for myself until a firetruck drove by, sirens on (I was across the street from the United Nations), as my Twitter feed began reporting increased security in New York City.

I left within minutes to go get my baby. I spent $15 on a cab instead of riding the subway, not because it was a faster way to get to point B (it wasn’t) but because I was scared, for the first time since I’ve lived in New York, to ride the subway.

**** you, bomber.

Leave a Reply

